“Prayers, Texts and Tears” by Dai Wooldridge

Quick Statistics

  • “Prayers, Texts and Tears” by Dai Woolridge
  • Christian Living
  • Read as an ARC, thanks to NetGalley
  • 4/5 stars
  • Finished January 1, 2017

Official Synopsis

Dai Woolridge’s personal story of grief and his creative response to God through the timeline of loss.

My Thoughts/Summary

I originally got this book hoping it would be an extension of what I had learned about incorporating the grieving process into our lives as Christians. When I started reading it, I kind of dragged through it in all honesty. This man was processing through a ton of grief. The prayers didn’t really relate to me because I was just trying to get more skills to help others relate to their grief.

And then something happened to me that was the closest I’ve ever felt to heartbreak and everything in this book became relevant.

I made my way through the pages, devouring the information and the comfort. The prayers became my lifeline as I tried to understand where the hell God was in all of this because it didn’t feel like he was around at all. It helped me gain clarity. It helped me feel comforted.

I wouldn’t recommend this book to people who are looking to understand grief from a spiritual place because it’s written more as a half memoir half inspirational book. But to people going through the grieving process and consider themselves followers of Jesus, I think this book will come in very handy.

Follow-Up Links

One thought on ““Prayers, Texts and Tears” by Dai Wooldridge

Leave a Reply

