Reading in January 2017

So each month, I’ll post a recap here of the books I’ve read, some statistics, and links to full reviews if they exist.

In January 2017, I read

  • 4 books
  • 7 single issue comics
  • 2 Christian books
  • 1 Novel
  • 1 Non-Fiction book
  • Bailed on 2 books
  • Lost Interest in 1

Books I finished:

Prayers, Texts and Tears – Dai Woolridge (full review here)

A List of Cages – Robin Roe (full review here)

The 15-Minute Prayer Solution – Gary Jansen (full review here)

Pro – Katha Pollit (full review here)

Single Issue Comics I finished:

Scarlet Witch 4-6 by James Robinson

Jessica Jones (2016) 1-4 by Brian Michael Bendis

Books Read for a Book Club: 1 for my Progressive Postal Book Club

Books Acquired this Month: 15

for the sake of space I won’t go through all of the DRC’s I received, but I will list the others

  • Little Deaths – Emma Flint (ARC)
  • Letters to a Young Muslim – Omar Saif Ghobash (ARC)
  • The Bear and the Nightingale – Katherine Arden (ARC)
  • Perfect Little World – Kevin Wilson (ARC)
  • The Man Who Shot My Eye Out is Dead – Chantelle Benz (ARC)
  • The New Case for Gold – Jim Rickards (Review Copy)
  • Audacity – Jonathan Chait (ARC)
  • The Maximum Security Book Club – Mikita Brottman (Purchased for Kindle)
  • My Lady Jane – Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows (Purchased for Kindle)
  • Abandoned – Elisa Dane (Free for Kindle)
  • What Color is Your Parachute 2017 – Richard N. Bolles (Purchased for Kindle)
  • The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck  – Sarah Knight (Purchased for Kindle)
  • …But I’m Not Racist!: Tools for Well-Meaning Whites – Kathy Obear (Free on Kindle)
  • A Study in Charlotte – Brittany Cavallaro(Purchased on Kindle)
  • A Million Little Ways – Emily P. Freeman (Purchased on Kindle)

Books I Bailed on:

  • “Hey Harry, Hey Matilda” by Rachel Hulin (see review here)
  • “What Color is Your Parachute” by Richard N. Bolles

Books I lost interest in:

  • “The House of the Scorpion” by Nancy Farmer

Best book of the month: Pro by Katha Pollitt

Worst book of the month: What Color is Your Parachute?

What’s On Tap for February:

  • No More Faking Fine – Esther Fleece
  • Men We Reaped – Jesmyn Ward
  • No God But God – Reza Aslan
  • The Bear and the Nightingale – Katherine Arden
  • Perfect Little World – Kevin Willerson
  • The Man Who Shot My Eye Out Is Dead- Chanelle Benz
  • Audacity – Jonathan Chait
  • The New Case for Gold – Jim Rickards
  • The Girl Before – JP Delaney
  • Many More!
Leave a Reply

