“The Fifteen-Minute Prayer Solution” by Gary Jansen

Quick Statistics

  • “The Fifteen-Minute Prayer Solution” by Gary Jansen
  • Christian Non-Fiction
  • Read as an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review
  • 4/5 stars
  • Finished January 6, 2017

Official Synopsis

What might happen if you gave just ONE PERCENT of your day to God?

I don’t have time to pray. I don’t know how to pray. I don’t know what to pray for. Perhaps you identify with one or all of these statements; most people do. But with Gary Jansen’s The 15-Minute Prayer Solution, anyone can learn to turn those “I don’t” statements into “I do” declarations— and be transformed in the process.

Drawing on spiritual practices from the Christian tradition throughout the centuries, Jansen offers numerous and wide-ranging prayer exercises that can be completed in less than fifteen minutes. The Jesus Prayer, lectio divina, the Examen, imaginative prayer, and many more ways to joyfully encounter the Living God are explained. Deeply personal stories, thought provoking modern-day parables, and even humorous anecdotes bring spiritual ideas down to earth, revealing the practical side of prayer.

And, as Jansen himself discovered, if you’re willing to take just fifteen minutes a day to pray, you may soon find that the entirety of your life has become a prayer, a relentless desire to place God at the center of everything.

My Thoughts/Summary

My prayer life has always kind of sucked, and I’ve tried many books to improve it. I am just not very good at just sitting down and talking with God for time on end. I tend to just talk to him throughout my day, thanking Him, petitioning Him for something, or reaching out to hear His voice about a situation. Prayer just always seemed something “prayer warriors” were always good at and I just wasn’t. I could do it in the moment, if needed, and I’m really good at praying for people publicly.

What I loved about this book is that it gave multiple, practical solutions to my problem. Fifteen minutes is something I can build to (I know, to those of you who can pray for hours on end I bet that seems so short!) but the author gave multiple ways to pray, so that depending on how I’m feeling on a given day, I’m able to find a way to pray.

I will say that I believe the writer was Catholic, however I didn’t find any gaps in theology being a Protestant. There were a few references to things that had different names but Google was my friend in this. Overall, I found this book really awesome for people who are super pressed for time and don’t know where to start in prayer. Or even people like myself who just feel behind and trying to catch up.

Follow-Up Links

One thought on ““The Fifteen-Minute Prayer Solution” by Gary Jansen

Leave a Reply

