“Without Rival” by Lisa Bevere

Quick Statistics

  • “Without Rival” by Lisa Bevere
  • Christian Non-Fiction
  • Read as a DRC thanks to NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
  • 1.5/5 stars
  • Bailed

Official Synopsis

A powerful message to help women break free from comparison and competition, embrace God’s purpose, and realize a life without rival.

My Thoughts/Summary

I am really sad I had to bail on this book. I was hesitant to try one of Lisa Bevere’s books honestly. Her husband came to spoke at my church (I attend Hillsong LA) and at first, I thought he was really profound, only to realize looking back that his speaking style and the points he was making weren’t really resonating long term. I also discovered that John Bevere is known for being very anti-gay, however, my church doesn’t let that message of condemnation ever be preached from the pulpit. This did color my vision of him and his wife.

I was granted this book on NetGalley and was really excited to read it. The topic seemed interesting, and I was hoping that the “controversial” topics wouldn’t be addressed. However, in a chapter that I originally was really excited about and was handled extremely well in regards to females in the church, Bevere made a very ignorant comment about trans* people. I’ve realized as I make my way through many of these Christian books a year (I sort of use these as my devotionals, reading a chapter a day, to learn more and dive into what He has in store for me) that even a simple paragraph like this makes it hard for me to soak in anything else the author has for me, so at that point I bailed.

I gave this book 1.5 stars because I liked the content up to then, but I know I wouldn’t have been able to get past the comments made. It really bums me out how prevalent and accepted this is in Christian publishing, and I wish we would just stop.

Follow-Up Links

One thought on ““Without Rival” by Lisa Bevere

Leave a Reply

