“The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck” – Sarah Knight

Quick Statistics

  • “The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck” by Sarah Knight
  • Practical Parody (that’s what it says on the book!)
  • Read as an ebook.
  • 4/5 stars
  • Finished February 24, 2017

Official Synopsis

THE “GENIUS” (Cosmopolitan) NATIONAL BESTSELLER
ON THE ART OF CARING LESS AND GETTING MORE
Are you stressed out, overbooked, and underwhelmed by life? Fed up with pleasing everyone else before you please yourself? It’s time to stop giving a f*ck.

This brilliant, hilarious, and practical parody of Marie Kondo’s bestseller The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up explains how to rid yourself of unwanted obligations, shame, and guilt–and give your f*cks instead to people and things that make you happy.

The easy-to-use, two-step NotSorry Method for mental decluttering will help you unleash the power of not giving a f*ck about:

Family drama
Having a “bikini body”
Iceland
Co-workers’ opinions, pets, and children
And other bullsh*t! And it will free you to spend your time, energy, and money on the things that really matter. So what are you waiting for? Stop giving a f*ck and start living your best life today!

My Thoughts/Summary

This is probably going to be a very short review, but I will say this book really surprised me. I’m a Hufflepuff primary, (if you haven’t heard about primary and secondary houses guys, it’ll change your life. Click here.) I do really genuinely care about most people and whether or not people like me. I know it’s something that I really need to break. People-pleasing is good in some circumstances but not in others. This book really gave me a great perception on how I can do that without putting myself on the back burner.

I know the title seems harsh, but Knight’s whole “method” actually involves not being an asshole. Most of her idea is that you have a limited amount of fucks that you can give, and you have a budget of them. You can’t give a fuck about everything, and that’s okay. So when you decide to give a fuck about something, you’ve removed a fuck from your budget, so that’s one less thing you can give a fuck about. In a very funny way, she really taught me about prioritizing who and what I invest energy in, since there’s not enough of me to give my energy to everything.

Follow-Up Links

Leave a Reply

